20th December 2018

This was the day that I received my Family Tree DNA test. I was out with my friends on the night I received the email telling me that my results were in. As excited as I was I wanted to wait to look at them with my parents. A day or so after we sat down together and had a look at them together.

One of my biggest fears of doing the test was that it was would come back and I would have no matches at all. So when I opened my results and seen a list of matches ranging from 2nd cousins to 5th cousins, I was over the moon. Funnily enough only one match out of them all had the same last name as my birth Mother ‘Loaiza’. I have since contacted them to see if they have any information. It is not likely as the match was a 4th cousin.

Over the Christmas I went on and had a look a few times, seeing if anything new had popped up that I hadn’t noticed before. This is when I came across Angela’s match. I noticed her photograph and couldn’t get over the resemblance of a woman I had became friends with at the beginning of my search because she too was adopted from Armenia, Quindio. I decided that I would write to her and see if she had too done the DNA testing with Family Tree DNA. She said yes but when doing so she used her maiden name, this confirmed that we were in fact 5th cousins. We were both delighted to have made a connection, and Angela welcomed me with open arms. She told me it didn’t matter if we were 10th cousins we were familia. To have her say this gave me such a warm feeling. I couldn’t get over the coincidence in how we started talking so early in my search to find out we were related. It truly was a beautiful Christmas present.

49664391_220772978801538_8722479602036899840_n

Over the Christmas, a woman Maria Hoyos contacted me. She had done a DNA test for a woman called Raquel Emilia Ramirez Hoyos, and she was a match to me, 2nd to 4th cousins. I asked if she would like to connect. Unfortunately she is very old and has no computer, only a cellphone. As I can’t speak Spanish it is hard for us to communicate. With that being said Raquel sent this beautiful message below to me. Again I had the wave of warmth and happiness blow over me. Never did I imagine that the day would come that I would be speaking to family, and not only that but that they would be so welcoming, and want to connect.

50019036_608232496282401_9190392168399765504_n.jpg

Another woman called Amy Bergman Hunter also contacted me over the Christmas. We are too 2nd to 4th cousins, she reached out when she seen that we were a match on FTDNA. We have not spoken since but she is another part of my family that I am now friends with on Facebook. I was so happy to wake up that morning to see another family member had reached out and wanted to connect.

49439873_2125541751092390_7737163105892827136_n

Encounters like this makes my search worth it. When I began my search initially all I wanted to find out was about my culture and my origins, my birth parents were not part of the equation. As my search went on I began to want to know more about my parents and my family. I know my parents are going to be the hardest thing to find along the journey, but I have family out there who have yet to meet me and that want to connect and hopefully meet one day, which opens a world of opportunities.

When looking into the ‘about me’ part of some of my matches I have found out I have a lot of cousins who have been adopted. Some were stolen/kidnapped from their family others simply just say they were adopted. This was something I found very interesting. I thought I would have no one that could relate to my situation when in fact I do. There is something very comforting knowing that I have family out there that really understand what I am going through. I also feel very sad to find out how very hard some of my family have had it. I hope to travel to Colombia in 2019, on this trip I hope to connect with some of my matches whilst diving into Colombia’s culture and truly start discovering my roots.





💛💙

Este fue el día en que recibí mi prueba de ADN de Family Tree. Salí con mis amigos la noche en que recibí el correo electrónico informándome que mis resultados estaban ahí. Tan emocionada como estaba, quería esperar para mirarlos con mis padres. Un día más o menos después de que nos sentamos juntos y les echamos un vistazo juntos.

Uno de mis mayores temores de hacer la prueba era que volvería y no tendría ninguna coincidencia. Así que cuando abrí mis resultados y vi una lista de partidos que iban desde el segundo primo hasta el quinto primo, estaba sobre la luna. Curiosamente, solo en el partido fuera de ellos todos tenían el mismo apellido que mi madre de nacimiento ‘Loaiza’. Desde entonces los he contactado para ver si tienen alguna información. No es probable que el partido fuera un 4to primo.

Durante la Navidad continué y lo miré varias veces, viendo si había aparecido algo nuevo que no había notado antes. Esto es cuando me encontré con el partido de Angela. Noté su fotografía y no pude olvidar el parecido con una mujer con la que me había hecho amiga al principio de mi búsqueda porque también ella fue adoptada de Armenia, Quindio. Decidí que le escribiría y vería si ella también había hecho las pruebas de ADN con el ADN de Family Tree. Ella dijo que sí, pero al hacerlo usó su apellido de soltera, esto confirmó que en realidad éramos 5to primos. Ambos estábamos encantados de haber hecho una conexión, y Angela me recibió con los brazos abiertos. Ella me dijo que no importaba si éramos primos décimos, éramos familia. Que ella dijera esto me dio una sensación tan cálida. No pude superar la coincidencia en cómo empezamos a hablar tan temprano en mi búsqueda para descubrir que estábamos relacionados. Realmente fue un hermoso regalo de Navidad.

49664391_220772978801538_8722479602036899840_n

Durante la Navidad, una mujer que María Hoyos me contactó. Ella había hecho una prueba de ADN para una mujer llamada Raquel Emilia Ramírez Hoyos, y ella era una pareja para mí, de 2 a 4 primos. Le pregunté si le gustaría conectarse. Desafortunadamente ella es muy vieja y no tiene computadora, solo un celular. Como no puedo hablar español es difícil para nosotros comunicarnos. Dicho esto, Raquel me envió este hermoso mensaje a continuación. Una vez más tuve la ola de calor y felicidad soplando sobre mí. Nunca imaginé que llegaría el día en que hablaría con la familia, y no solo eso, sino que serían tan acogedores y que quisieran conectarse.

50019036_608232496282401_9190392168399765504_n

Otra mujer llamada Amy Bergman Hunter también me contactó en Navidad. Somos primos de 2º a 4º, se acercó cuando vio que coincidíamos con FTDNA. No hemos hablado desde entonces, pero ella es otra parte de mi familia con la que ahora soy amigo en Facebook. Estaba tan feliz de despertarme esa mañana para ver que otro miembro de la familia había contactado y quería conectarse.

49439873_2125541751092390_7737163105892827136_n

Encuentros como este hacen que mi búsqueda valga la pena. Cuando comencé mi búsqueda inicialmente, todo lo que quería saber era sobre mi cultura y mis orígenes, mis padres biológicos no formaban parte de la ecuación. A medida que avanzaba mi búsqueda, empecé a querer saber más sobre mis padres y mi familia. Sé que mis padres serán las cosas más difíciles de encontrar a lo largo del viaje, pero tengo una familia que aún no se ha reunido conmigo y que desea conectarse y espero reunirme algún día, lo que abre un mundo de oportunidades.

Cuando miré la parte ‘acerca de mí’ de algunos de mis partidos, descubrí que tengo muchos primos que han sido adoptados. Algunos fueron robados / secuestrados de su familia, otros simplemente dicen que fueron adoptados. Esto fue algo que me pareció muy interesante. Pensé que no tendría a nadie que pudiera relacionarme con mi situación cuando, de hecho, lo tengo. Hay algo muy reconfortante al saber que tengo una familia que realmente entiende lo que estoy pasando. También me siento muy triste al descubrir lo difícil que ha sido parte de mi familia. Espero viajar a Colombia en 2019, en este viaje espero conectarme con algunos de mis partidos mientras buceo en la cultura de Colombia y comenzar realmente a descubrir mis raíces.

2 comments

  1. Best of luck Jennifer for 2019, following your story and I love it. Really hope you find the answers you’re looking for…

    Antoinette.xxx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment